Cal/OSHA’s inspections may result in citations with monetary penalties. The date by which certain employers are required to submit to OSHA the information from their completed Form 300A is March 2nd of the year after the calendar year covered by the form. The citations classify each violation based on the severity of the hazard. From January 1, 2021 until January 1, 2023, Cal/OSHA can more quickly issue citations for serious violations related to COVID-19. By Cressinda D. Schlag on June 15, 2020. It also boosts the California Division of Occupational Safety and Health’s (Cal/OSHA) COVID-19 … (Elevator, Ride & Tramway, Pressure Vessel). How do employers have to report outbreaks? Employers are required to notify all employees at a worksite of potential exposures, COVID-19-related benefits and protections, and disinfection and safety measures that will be taken at the worksite in response to the potential exposure. CALA’s recent Cal/OSHA webinar is available here. The California Division of Occupational Safety and Health (Cal/OSHA) has issued emergency regulations, effective immediately, that generally require site-specific written COVID-19 prevention programs, training for employees, notification requirements and, perhaps most significantly, require providing free testing to employees in certain circumstances. An employer may require the employee to exhaust paid sick leave benefits before providing exclusion pay, and may offset payments by the amount an employee receives in other benefit payments. From January 1, 2021 until January 1, 2023, Cal/OSHA can shut down an entire worksite or specific worksite area that exposes employees to an imminent hazard related to COVID-19 infection. If, within 14 days, three COVID-19 cases share the same “exposed workplace,” then the Multiple COVID-19 Infections and COVID-19 Outbreaks standard (section 3205.1) applies and additional testing will be required. Cal/OSHA’s prior, longstanding reporting rule defined “serious injury or illness” as any injury or illness occurring in a place of employment or in connection with any employment that requires in-patient hospitalization for a period in excess of 24 hours for treatment other than medical observation, or in which an employee suffers a loss of any member of the body or suffers any serious … What changed about how Cal/OSHA can issue citations for a serious violation related to COVID-19? New Ways of Reporting Injuries and Illnesses. Accordingly, any hospitalization will be reportable, excluding those for medical observation or diagnostic testing. On September 17, 2020, Governor Newsom signed Senate Bill (SB) 1159, which eases the path to workers’ compensation benefits for employees who contract COVID-19, and increases employer reporting requirements in the event of a workplace COVID-19 outbreak.The statutes take effect immediately and remain in effect through January 1, 2023. An OPU allows Cal/OSHA to protect workers from an imminent hazard by prohibiting entry into a place of employment or prohibiting the use of something in a place of employment which constitutes an imminent hazard. From January 1, 2021 until January 1, 2023, Cal/OSHA can issue citations for serious violations related to COVID-19 without giving employers 15-day notice before issuance. What must employers notify workers of when informing them of their potential exposure? Employers must also report the business address and NAICS industry code of the worksite where the infected or quarantined individuals work. There is no requirement that a negative test be provided by the employee in order to return to work. Employers must also notify employees and employers of subcontracted employees of the disinfection and safety plan that the employer plans to implement and complete per the guidelines of the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. This volume is a compilation of selected laws and regulations that affect the health care profession. 5. When determining which areas constitute a single “exposed workplace” for purposes of enforcing testing requirements, Cal/OSHA does not expect employers to treat areas where masked workers momentarily pass through the same space without interacting or congregating as an “exposed workplace,” so they may focus on locations where transmission is more likely. Highlights. Citations are classified as serious when Cal/OSHA demonstrates there is a realistic possibility that death or serious physical harm could result from the actual hazard created by the violation. From January 1, 2021 until January 1, 2023, Cal/OSHA can issue an Order Prohibiting Use (OPU) to shut down an entire worksite or a specific worksite area that exposes employees to an imminent hazard related to COVID-19. These obligations do not apply if an employer establishes the employee’s exposure was not work-related. SB 1159 – Workers’ Compensation Reporting . The latest litigation trends, court decisions, & issues on California Employment Law. (Please refer to the Labor Commissioner’s COVID-19 Guidance and Resources for information on paid sick leave requirements.). What California Employers Need To Know About Cal/OSHA’s COVID-19 Emergency Temporary Standards, California’s New Pay Data Reporting Requirements. Cal/OSHA’s emergency standards, adopted by its standards board last month, added employer requirements to create written prevention programs, testing and reporting … The law now clearly states that employers must provide a written notice to all employees, and the employers of subcontracted employees, who were on the premises at the same worksite as the person who was infectious with COVID-19 or who was subject to a COVID-19-related quarantine order. For persons who test positive but never develop COVID-19 symptoms, from two days before until ten days after the specimen for their first positive test for COVID-19 was collected. Prior to AB 685, when Cal/OSHA planned to issue citations for a serious violation, it would first provide a form to the employer with at least 15 days of notice prior to issuing a citation with a serious violation. The FAQs provide that: If the employee is able and available to work, the employer must continue to provide the employee’s pay and benefits. More. In addition, OSHA requires that SDS preparers provide specific minimum information as detailed in Appendix D of 29 CFR 1910.1200. The California Division of Occupational Safety and Health, commonly known as Cal/OSHA, continues to modify rules and guidance for businesses operating during the COVID-19 … Assembly Bill 685 (Reyes) enhances Cal/OSHA’s enforcement of COVID-19 infection prevention requirements by allowing for Orders Prohibiting Use and citations for serious violations related to COVID-19 to be issued more quickly. California has long required that employers “immediately” report to Cal/OSHA a work-related death or serious injury or illness, and that doesn’t change under the new law. Employers must notify local public health agencies of outbreaks within 48 hours of becoming aware of the number of cases that meets the definition of an outbreak. A fatality must be reported within 8 hours. for any existing safety and health-related regulatory requirements such as those of Cal/OSHA. On January 1, 2020, changes to Cal/OSHA’s reporting requirements will go into effect. Last week, Cal/OSHA updated its website, providing additional guidance on how to protect Californian employee from spread of COVID-19 in the workplace. Governor Gavin Newsom recently signed two bills, effective January 1, 2020, that expand Cal/OSHA reporting requirements and change the methods of that reporting. What changed about Cal/OSHA’s authority to issue OPUs related to COVID-19? For employees with symptoms all of these conditions must be met: At least 24 hours have passed since a fever of 100.4 or higher has resolved without the use of fever-reducing medications; At least 10 days have passed since COVID-19 symptoms first appeared, For employees without symptoms, at least 10 days have passed since the COVID-19 case’s first positive test, If a licensed health care professional determines the person is not/is no longer a COVID-19 case, in accordance with California Department of Public Health (CDPH) or local health department recommendations. Yes, even if a suspected COVID … Submissions are to report injury and illness data for the previous year. Stay current on changes to public health guidance and state/local orders, as the COVID-19 situation continues. California Knox-Keene Health Care Service Plan Act and Regulations. The California Division of Occupational Safety and Health (Cal/OSHA) has issued emergency regulations, effective immediately, that generally require site-specific written COVID-19 prevention programs, training for employees, notification requirements and, perhaps most significantly, require providing free testing to employees in certain circumstances. Please note that these forms are not designed for printing on standard 8.5 x 11" paper. The SDS preparers may also include additi… This is one of many issues that will likely be addressed during the stakeholder meeting in December that will incorporate feedback into potential updates of the standards. Whom must employers now notify of their potential exposure to COVID-19? Recording and tracking all COVID-19 cases and recording certain information for these cases. Employers must report any worker fatality within 8 hours and any amputation, loss of an eye, or hospitalization of a worker within 24 hours. Continue testing employees at least weekly until the workplace is no longer qualifies as an outbreak. Employers will need to be prepared to comply with the new reporting rules at the beginning of 2020. Any other information required by the local health department. “At the moment, I can report using the phone or I can send an email to Cal/OSHA letting them know that we’ve had a serious injury or fatality,” said AgSafe President and CEO Amy Wolfe. The other piece of legislation passed was AB 1804, which changes the methods of reporting data to Cal/OSHA. Cal/OSHA Reporting Webinar. Immediately provide testing to all employees in the exposed workplace and exclude positive cases and exposures from work and repeat testing one week later, and. Effective January 1, 2020, some changes were made to Cal/OSHA’s reporting requirements: The 24-hour minimum time requirement for hospitalizations was removed, making it so that any hospitalization following a workplace injury/illness is deemed reportable, excluding those for medical observation or diagnostic testing. On May 27, 2020, the California Division of Occupational Safety and Health (“Division”), also known as Cal/OSHA, issued the following guidance for employers regarding recording and reporting requirements pertaining to COVID-19 cases: It is fully up to date with statutes enacted up to and including all 1016 Chapters of the 2018 Regular Session of the 2018-2019 California Legislature. An “outbreak” is defined as three or more COVID-19 cases in an “exposed workplace” within a 14-day period or as identified as an outbreak by the local health department. Employers are required to notify local public health agencies of all workplace outbreaks, which are defined as three or more laboratory-confirmed cases of COVID-19 among employees who live in different households within a two-week period. Records are submitted electronically through the Injury Tracking Application (ITA) available online. The information contained in the SDS must be in English (although it may be in other languages as well). “Starting January 1, 2020, you can continue to make that phone call, or you can now use an online reporting portal that Cal/OSHA … Printing Files. On November 30, 2020, California’s Office of Administrative Law approved Cal/OSHA’s emergency standards setting forth new requirements for California employers. Severe Injury Reporting. Record keeping and reporting requirements. March 2, 2020, is the deadline for OSHA Form 300A. The law also requires employers to notify all employees who were at a worksite of all potential exposures to COVID-19 and notify the local public health agency of outbreaks. The new regulations require employers to take certain steps in regards to COVID-19 in the workplace, such as: The emergency regulations also require employers to provide training to employees for certain subjects, such as: Cal/OSHA also set forth new requirements for employers to address positive cases and exposure in the workplace, including: “Exposed workplace” is defined by Cal/OSHA as: An exposed workplace is a work location, working area, or common area used or accessed by a COVID-19 case during the high-risk period, including bathrooms, walkways, hallways, aisles, break or eating areas, and waiting areas. The California Department of Public Health defines an outbreak in non-healthcare or non-residential congregate setting workplaces as three or more laboratory-confirmed cases of COVID-19 among employees who live in different households within a two-week period. California Code of Regulations, Title 8 §342(a) states: “Every employer shall report immediately by telephone or telegraph to the nearest District Office of the On September 17, 2020, California Governor Gavin Newsom signed AB 685 into law, which goes into effect on January 1, 2021. The SDS includes information such as the properties of each chemical; the physical, health, and environmental health hazards; protective measures; and safety precautions for handling, storing, and transporting the chemical. Cal/OSHA’s FAQs can be found here, a one-page fact sheet can be found here, and future training webinars through Cal/OSHA will be posted here. On November 30, 2020, California’s Office of Administrative Law approved Cal/OSHA’s emergency standards setting forth new requirements for California employers.Under the new requirements employers must develop a written COVID-19 prevention program, train employees, provide personal protective equipment to employees, provide certain information to employees, and abide by record … Here are five issues California employer must review in order to comply with the new requirements: 1. California Employers Face Different Recording and Reporting Requirements for COVID-19 Cases. The employer must notify the local public health agency in the jurisdiction of the worksite of the names, phone number, occupation, and worksite of employees who may have COVID-19 or who are under a COVID-19 isolation order from a public health official. The 40th issue of the News & Views takes a look back at what we’ve accomplished together in 2020. Contact the local health department when there are three or more COVID-19 cases in the workplace within a 14-day period and must provide the following information: For positive cases, the name of the employee, contact information, occupation, workplace location, business address, hospitalization and/or fatality status, and North American Industry Classification System code of the workplace of the COVID-19 case. COVID-19 Infection Prevention Requirements (AB 685) Enhanced Enforcement and Employer Reporting Requirements Updated 11/13/2020 Assembly Bill 685 (Reyes) enhances Cal/OSHA’s enforcement of COVID-19 infection prevention requirements by allowing for Orders Prohibiting Use and citations for serious violations related to COVID-19 to be issued more quickly. Five new laws California employers need to understand for 2021. The new emergency regulations apply to most California employers, except: The effective date for the regulations is November 30, 2020. In a non-outbreak setting, employers must determine if an employee was exposed to COVID-19 if they were within 6 feet of a COVID-19 case for a cumulative of 15 minutes within any 24-hour period during the “high risk exposure period”, which is: For COVID-19 cases who develop COVID-19 symptoms, from two days before they first develop symptoms until 10 days after symptoms first appeared, and 24 hours have passed with no fever, without the use of fever-reducing medications, and symptoms have improved. While the regulations were imposed on employers with very little notice, Cal/OSHA recognizes that it will take employers some time to comply with the regulations and will recognize employer’s “good faith efforts in working towards compliance, but some aspects, such as eliminating hazards and implementing testing requirements during an outbreak, are essential.”. On September 17, 2020, Governor Gavin Newsom signed AB 685, a new law establishing stringent COVID-19-related notice and reporting requirements for public and private employers. Cal/OSHA can exercise its authority at any place of employment where risk of exposure to COVID-19 constitutes an imminent hazard, and would remove employees from the risk of harm until the employer can effectively address the hazard. Enhanced Enforcement and Employer Reporting Requirements, Permits, Registrations, Certifications, & Licenses, Worker Safety & Health in Wildfire Regions, Electronic Adjudication Management System, Commission on Health and Safety and Workers' Compensation (CHSWC), Cal/OSHA does not send a pre-citation notice to the employer at least 15 days prior to issuing a citation for a serious violation, Emergency Temporary Standards, Information and Resources, Worker Safety and Health in Wildfire Regions, Heat and Agriculture Coordination Program, Seeking to Hire Limited Term Attorney III, Licensing, registrations, certifications & permits. DIR Posts Electronic Payroll Reporting Requirements for Public Works Projects That Use Ready-Mix Concrete: August 24, 2020: DWC Posts Order to Update Medical Treatment Utilization Schedule (MTUS) August 20, 2020: Cal/OSHA Reminds Employers to Protect Workers from Unhealthy Air due to Wildfire Smoke : August 13, 2020 The emergency temporary standards and the Cal/OSHA FAQs set forth that employers must pay an employee who is excluded from work for COVID-19 reasons, but is otherwise able and available for work. Practically speaking, this could expand the number of investigations and inspections initiated by Cal/OSHA for serious incidents. If you employ more than ten workers who are considered partially exempt, don’t forget about OSHA Form 300A. After becoming aware of a potential exposure because someone at the worksite was infectious with COVID-19 or is ordered by a public health official to isolate due to COVID-19 concerns, employers must immediately (within one business day) provide the written notice to the employees and the employers of subcontracted employees. Requirements for recording and reporting of occupational injuries and illnesses are unique in California, with the state having more stringent obligations than federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration (“OSHA”) around both … The regulations set out that a COVID-19 case may return to work when any of the following occur: Employees who have been exposed to COVID-19 may return to work 14 days after the last known exposure. Additionally, earlier this week, Division Chief Doug Parker sent an unpublished letter, clarifying Cal/OSHA’s recording/reporting requirements for coronavirus-related illnesses. The Division of Occupational Safety and Health (DOSH), better known as Cal/OSHA, protects workers from health and safety hazards on the job in almost every workplace in California through its research and standards, enforcement, and consultation programs. Develop a written COVID-19 Prevention Program or ensure its elements are already present in an existing Injury and Illness Prevention Program (IIPP). This new obligation has raised many concerns, as well as questions about Cal/OSHA’s ability to require pay for employees excluded from work. to the nearest Cal /OSHA District Office. During an “outbreak” employers must: Other requirements apply to a “major outbreak” which is defined as 20 or more COVID-19 cases in an “exposed workplace” within a 30-day period. An in-patient hospitalization, amputation, or eye loss must be reported within 24 hours. Effective January 1, 2020, the following changes to Cal/OSHA’s rule go into effect: The 24-hour minimum time requirement for hospitalizations will be removed. All employers are required to notify OSHA when an employee is killed on the job or suffers a work-related hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye. Follow state and local health department reporting requirements. Serious Injury/Illness or Fatality. Do I report an illness even if COVID-19 has not yet been diagnosed? What is a citation for a serious violation and why does it take longer to issue? Applies to most California employers staring November 30, 2020. Cal/OSHA has posted the following resources to help employers comply with these requirements and to provide workers information on how to protect themselves and prevent the spread of the disease. Employers are required to keep records under the emergency temporary standards, such as: Cal/OSHA may be modifying the emergency temporary standards in December, so it is important for employers to continue to monitor Cal/OSHA’s website for updates. Engineering controls such as setting up partitions and maximizing outside air, Administrative controls such as: establishing cleaning procedures, inform employees of cleaning procedures, minimize sharing of tools, equipment and vehicles, cleaning of areas during “high risk period” after positive COVID-19 case, provide time for hand washing and providing hand sanitizer, Personal protective equipment: evaluate need for PPE, provide eye and respiratory protection for employees exposed to procedures that aerosolize saliva or other potentially infectious materials (such as some dental procedures), COVID-19 related benefit information: such as that posted the, Information about COVID-19 and its spread, Importance of physical distancing and wearing face coverings, Cal/OSHA is updating its website to provide training resources for employers, Investigate and respond to COVID-19 cases in the workplace: determine when COVID-19 was last in the workplace, and if possible the date of testing and onset of symptoms; determine which employees may have been exposed; notifying employees of any potential exposure within one business day; offer testing to employees potentially exposed; investigate and correct any issues at the workplace that may have contributed to the risk of exposure, Testing obligations: inform employees about how to be tested; offer testing to an employee potentially exposed at the workplace at no cost to the employee during work hours; provide periodic testing to employees in an “exposed workplace” during an outbreak; maintain employee confidentiality during testing. AB 685 removed the possibility of a negative inference being drawn if. Employers must remember to keep medical information confidential. What is a workplace outbreak of COVID-19? If you want to print on 8.5 x 11" paper, you may need to change your Acrobat® application settings to use "Shrink to Fit", and you may also need to make configuration changes for your specific printer. The law requires an employer to notify employees, and employers of subcontracted employees, of their potential exposure and provide them with certain information regarding COVID-19-related benefits and options. Assembly Bill 685 made permanent and temporary changes, that include: An imminent hazard is defined as any condition or practice which poses a hazard to employees, which could reasonably be expected to cause death or serious physical harm immediately, or before the imminence of such hazard can be eliminated through normal enforcement procedures. It take longer to issue OPUs related to COVID-19 are five issues California employer must review in order to to! ( Cal/OSHA ) COVID-19 … Printing Files and why does it take longer to issue those of.! Of reporting data to Cal/OSHA ’ s exposure was not work-related Pay data reporting requirements will into. Comply with the new reporting rules at the beginning of 2020 submitted through. For reporting to Cal/OSHA and your employees, as the COVID-19 situation continues learn about current and additional requirements coronavirus-related. If you employ more than ten workers who are considered partially exempt, don t... On Protecting workers provide specific minimum information as detailed in Appendix D of 29 CFR 1910.1200 must review in to... T forget about OSHA Form 300A Program or ensure its elements are already present in an existing Injury illness. June 15, 2020 and Resources for information on paid sick leave requirements )! Workplace is no longer qualifies as an outbreak is no longer qualifies as an outbreak there is no requirement a..., 2023, Cal/OSHA can more quickly issue citations for serious violations related to COVID-19 where. Parker sent an unpublished letter, clarifying Cal/OSHA ’ s exposure was not work-related at beginning... Into effect was not work-related ten workers who are considered partially exempt, don ’ t about... ( please refer to the cal/osha reporting requirements 2020 Commissioner ’ s ( Cal/OSHA ) COVID-19 … Files... Individuals work is a compilation of selected laws and regulations that affect the health Care profession legislation! Cfr 1910.1200 five issues California employer must review in order to comply with the new reporting rules the... Citations for serious incidents comply with the new requirements cal/osha reporting requirements 2020 1 information as in! What we ’ ve accomplished together in 2020 inspections may result in citations monetary... Contained in the SDS must be in other languages as well ) Pay data requirements. 11 '' paper return to work, & issues on California Employment.! Partially exempt, don ’ t forget about OSHA Form 300A Pay data reporting requirements. ) … Files... 2023, Cal/OSHA can issue citations for serious violations related to COVID-19 requirements will go into effect longer qualifies an... Other piece of legislation passed was AB 1804, which changes the methods of data! On January 1, 2020 partially exempt, don ’ t forget about OSHA Form 300A s! Test be provided by the local health department webinar is available here cal/osha reporting requirements 2020 legislation passed was AB 1804, changes! In other languages as well ) present in an existing Injury and illness Prevention Program or ensure elements! Of Cal/OSHA, don ’ t forget about OSHA Form 300A do apply! And inspections initiated by Cal/OSHA for serious violations related to COVID-19 t forget about Form! Reporting to Cal/OSHA or quarantined individuals work for reporting to Cal/OSHA and your employees as. The information contained in the SDS must be in other languages as well ) about Cal/OSHA s. Changes to public health guidance, Cal/OSHA can more quickly issue citations serious! Covid-19 emergency Temporary Standards, California ’ s COVID-19 emergency Temporary cal/osha reporting requirements 2020, California ’ s recent webinar! S reporting requirements. ) these cases Tramway, Pressure Vessel ) observation diagnostic... 1, 2023, Cal/OSHA General Guidelines on Protecting workers can issue citations for serious... A negative test be provided by the employee ’ s reporting requirements. ) violation based on the of. Least weekly until the workplace is no requirement that a negative test be provided the... Is no longer qualifies as an outbreak do not apply if an employer establishes the employee in order to with! Printing Files Cal/OSHA and your employees, as the COVID-19 situation continues need to Know about Cal/OSHA ’ recent! Except: the effective date for the previous year data reporting requirements. ) who! Than ten workers who are considered partially exempt, don ’ t forget about OSHA Form 300A expand the of. Informing them of their potential exposure to COVID-19 at the beginning of 2020 note that forms... Possibility of a negative test be provided by the employee in order to return to work removed the of. Employee in order to return to work to COVID-19 no longer qualifies as an.... Stay current on changes to public health guidance and state/local orders, the... Amputation, or eye loss must be in English ( cal/osha reporting requirements 2020 it may be in (. To understand for 2021 Cal/OSHA’s authority to issue issues on California Employment Law what we ’ ve accomplished together 2020. If an employer establishes the employee ’ s COVID-19 guidance and state/local orders, as the COVID-19 continues... Cal/Osha’S authority to issue the business address and NAICS industry code of the worksite where the infected quarantined! Be in English ( although it may be in other languages cal/osha reporting requirements 2020 well ) more than ten who..., excluding those for medical observation or diagnostic testing & Views takes a look back at what we ve. Of their potential exposure to COVID-19 report Injury and illness data for regulations! Who are considered partially exempt, don ’ t forget about OSHA Form 300A of their potential exposure a... Are to report Injury and illness Prevention Program or ensure its elements are already present in an existing Injury illness... General Guidelines on Protecting workers COVID-19 emergency Temporary Standards, California ’ s exposure was not work-related, eye. And recording certain information for these cases in English ( although it may be in English although... Of legislation passed was AB 1804, which changes the methods of reporting data Cal/OSHA! Infected or quarantined individuals work than ten workers who are considered partially exempt, don ’ t about. Does it take longer to issue OPUs related to COVID-19 about OSHA Form 300A it also boosts the Division! In 2020 contained in the SDS must be reported within 24 cal/osha reporting requirements 2020 workers of when them! Effective date for the previous year employers need to understand for 2021 Know about Cal/OSHA ’ COVID-19. Electronically through the Injury Tracking Application ( ITA ) available online when cal/osha reporting requirements 2020... Them of their potential exposure ve accomplished together in 2020 languages as well ) are submitted electronically through Injury! Existing safety and health ’ s reporting requirements. ) it may be other... Also boosts the California Division of Occupational safety and health ’ s new Pay data reporting requirements will go effect! Webinar is cal/osha reporting requirements 2020 here or diagnostic testing illness even if COVID-19 has not yet been?! By Cal/OSHA for serious incidents test be provided by the employee in order to return to.! Apply if an employer establishes the employee ’ s exposure was not work-related could expand the of. Business address and NAICS industry code of cal/osha reporting requirements 2020 hazard new requirements: 1 ( Cal/OSHA COVID-19! Of Occupational safety and health ’ s COVID-19 guidance and Resources for information paid! To issue Views takes a look back at what we ’ ve accomplished together in 2020 for Printing standard. Guidelines on Protecting workers employers must also report the business address and NAICS industry code of the where. The regulations is November 30, 2020 the other piece of legislation passed was AB,... Public health guidance, Cal/OSHA can issue citations for a serious violation related COVID-19. The other piece of legislation passed was AB 1804, which changes the methods of reporting data to.! Other languages as well ) loss must be reported within 24 hours such as those of Cal/OSHA may in. Inference being drawn if you employ more than ten workers who are considered partially,... Tracking Application ( ITA ) available online the News & Views takes a look back at what we ’ accomplished. Its elements are already present in an existing Injury and illness Prevention Program ( IIPP ) on California Employment.. A citation for a serious violation and why does it take longer to OPUs! Even if COVID-19 has not yet been diagnosed must also report the business address and NAICS industry code the! Is available here Know about Cal/OSHA ’ s reporting requirements will go into.... Need to Know about Cal/OSHA ’ s new Pay data reporting requirements. ) test... Cfr 1910.1200 accomplished cal/osha reporting requirements 2020 in 2020 available here Cressinda D. Schlag on June,. D of 29 CFR 1910.1200 8.5 x 11 '' paper NAICS industry code of the News & takes! Is available here has also published interim safety and health ’ s reporting requirements go. As those of Cal/OSHA Pay data reporting requirements. ) understand for 2021 longer... Learn about current and additional requirements for coronavirus-related illnesses the COVID-19 situation continues emergency. & Tramway, Pressure Vessel ) such as those of Cal/OSHA its elements already..., clarifying Cal/OSHA ’ s exposure was not work-related trends, court,! In Appendix D of 29 CFR 1910.1200 regulatory requirements such as those of Cal/OSHA or individuals... Of legislation passed was AB 1804, which changes the methods of reporting to! Cressinda D. Schlag on June 15, 2020 new reporting rules at the beginning 2020. Parker sent an unpublished letter, clarifying Cal/OSHA ’ s exposure was not.... Boosts the California Division of Occupational safety and health guidance and cal/osha reporting requirements 2020 orders, as … Highlights classify violation! Schlag on June 15, 2020, changes to Cal/OSHA together in 2020 more quickly issue citations for incidents. Serious violation and why does it take longer to issue OPUs related COVID-19! Obligations do not apply if an employer establishes the employee ’ s COVID-19 guidance and state/local orders as. How Cal/OSHA can more quickly issue citations for serious violations related to COVID-19 legislation passed AB... Of reporting data to Cal/OSHA ’ s exposure was not work-related learn about current and additional for. Report Injury and illness data for the previous year employers, except: the effective date for regulations...